by Sandy Piccaso

Picture
    Magazines. We all love them. We take them in the car on long trips, into the beauty salon, doctor’s offices and on occasion some people might even take them into the bathroom. Magazines are for those of us who like to read, but are not always able to sit down with a fifty chapter novel. They are short, to the point and have lots of colors and pictures that capture our attention. Magazines not only contain great articles about anything and everything,some even contain activities. Magazines aimed towards women might have quizzes about “Which Lipstick Color is for You?” for men: “What Type of Dad are You?”                                                                                                                  
     What about children? I mean we adults can’t be the only ones who get to skim through these magazines right? Well thankfully there is a magazine called Highlights. It’s a children’s magazine that was first published in 1946 by Garry Myers and Caroline Myers. They managed to create an informative yet fun magazine that would capture the attention of children of all ages.
    I remember the first time I was given a Highlights magazine. I was in the 2nd grade and our teacher was cleaning out her arts and crafts drawer when she found the magazine. We all wanted to see it so she made copies of a few of the actives pages and handed them to the class. On this particular page we had to find several small objects within a large picture. When I finally found all the objects I was so excited, I felt like I had just won some big competition. Since we all enjoyed the magazine so much she decided to give it away to the person with the highest grade on our next spelling test. Unfortunately I didn’t win, but I tried so hard on my next test that I won the following week. Until the end of the school year our teacher would always give away an old issue to the student with the highest grade on a different subject every week.
    Highlights is a great magazine full of activates that children can do at home by themselves or with the help of a parent. It includes arts and crafts, healthy snacks and even a section called "The Arizona Zone." In this section children would write to “Arizona,” a girl who, much like Abby, gives them advice on problems that they face with classmates or friends. She writes about responsibility, honesty and the importance of being a good person. "The Arizona Zone" is a great section that helps children learn new things and how to deal with difficult situations.

Picture
    Personally my favorite section of Highlights was "Hidden Pictures." In this section of the magazine the children are given a list of small object that they have to find within a larger picture. This section is usually a picture of a silly situation filled with children, animals and everyday items. The hidden pictures are usually items, like a paint brush, that blend in with a child's hair, or a bell that looks like a rabbits tail.
    I think the best part of Highlights is "The Recipe Box." In this section the child is given many different recipes they can try at home with their parents or older sibling. They contain healthy but yummy foods that parents will appreciate. These recipes are a great way to help children and their parents bond and work together on something they both like.
    Now, we all know that magazines cost money, and some magazines may be more expensive than others. Thankfully Highlights, and many other magazines, offers an online page that provides a few free activities. "Hidden Pictures," "Science Projects," "The Recipe Box" and many are included both in the magazines and online, so the parents and the child won’t miss out on any of the fun if they are unable to purchase the magazine.
    Don’t forget, magazines are a great way to get informed on news, gossip, and fashion, but they are also a great way to bond with your children. Family Matters Parenting Magazine can’t stress enough the importance of spending time with your children. Laura Pickford Ramirez, says that it is very important for the parent to organize their everyday schedule around their family life, so that they are able to spend individual and quality time with their children. She also goes on to mention that we all have time to bond, no matter what “chores” are pending, we should always try to incorporate our children to help out, like during cleaning the house. Even little moments like these can make a huge difference in your child’s relationship with you.


10/22/2012 03:27:38 am

Hello, my name is Rebecca Hurt and I am a senior at TAMUK. I really liked your article "Highlights Magazine." The fact that I used to read this magazine when I was little really drew me to your article. I loved that magazine! My favorite parts of the magazine was also "Hidden Pictures" and "The Recipe Box," you wrote a great article!

Reply
10/22/2012 03:35:12 am

Hello, my name is Amy, and I wanted to read and comment on your blog because I can remember as a child sitting in a doctor’s office or at home trying to find the hidden objects in the “Hidden Pictures” activity; and I thought that it was great to see someone that not only talked about it personally but also talked about it in a professional sense. I hope to see more children read this magazine, and I hope parents think it’s a good idea.

Reply
Laura Valdes
10/22/2012 12:44:49 pm

Hi, my name is Laura Valdes, currently a CSDO major at TAMUK. I read your article and found it very interesting and a very hopeful tool for my major. Since I want to focus in kids "Highlights Magazine" will be a great source for new activities for children. You wrote an excellent article! I'm totally looking forward to read this magazine!

Reply
10/24/2012 12:16:40 am

Hi, my name is Devan Banda and I'm an Animal Science major at TAMUK. I was immediately attracted to this article because I still, as an adult, read Highlights magazine. I have a niece who is subscribed to the magazine, so when it comes in I like to sit and read it with her. Honestly I think I am more interested into the magazine than she is. Another reason this article caught my attention is because I'm currently expecting my first child and can't wait to be able and sit down with them and read Highlights. Thank you for a great read and for acknowledging the great magazine!

Reply
Claudia Chapa
10/24/2012 12:36:09 am

Hi, my name is Claudia Chapa I am in the 9:00 tech. writing class. What got my attention about this was reading this magazine when I was younger. I love going through this magazine looking at the hidden pictures, and the jokes/riddles that they put in it.

Reply
10/24/2012 03:47:43 am

Hi, my name is Cristina Gonzalez. The title of your blog and picture of the Highlights magazine caught my attention. This blog took me back to when I was a kid in the dentist waiting room. Highlights was the only thing I looked forward to when I had a dentist appointment, I loved the magazine as a child. The "Hidden Picture" portion of the magazine was my favorite as well. As a parent now, I am glad to hear the magazine is still going. I am going to look into subscribing to Highlights for my daughter/

Reply
Kelsey Schumaker
10/25/2012 05:44:18 am

Sandy,
My name is Kelsey Schumaker and I hold the Public Relations position for my groups website called Global Connect. Your blog was very fun to read because its something that I can relate too. When I was younger I actually read this magazine too and my favorite part was "find the missing object" just like you. I think its great that there is a kid friendly magazine out there for kids to be able to read and look at. Your website and blog is very bright and colorful which is a great eye catcher for the reader. Something that I learned was that kids notice little things such as what magazine their parents are reading, and like any other kid, they wanna model after their parents and I think that Highlights is a great way to represent that! Overall, you had a really good blog. Great job!

Reply
10/26/2012 05:30:46 am

Hi, my name Adrianna Sulaica and I am a CSDO major and am part of the Travel4U organization. Seeing your article title caught me off guard and really made me think back to my childhood. As a child I would read the Highlights Magazines and spend time going through them not only once, but multiple times. Your article helped me reminisce about my childhood and reminded me about this magazine. I learned from your article that there some free activities online, which is good knowledge to have in the future for not only my future kids, but also for my job. Your article was really good!

Reply



Leave a Reply.