Picture
Click hereOne of the most stressful things for a parent to face during the Holidays is separation or divorce. It can create tension between the two parents over who the child will spend time with and cause the child to bombard the parent with questions about their broken family.


I currently have a friend who is going through a divorce. She has two children: Juan, 5 years old and Ruben, 3 year old. It may not seem like the kids are old enough to start feeling the stress of their missing father; however, Juan has already begun to ask “When’s daddy coming home?” Although she has the support of her parents Lisa is very stressed about doing the Christmas shopping and trying to figure out how she will split the time the children will spend with her and their father. I have decided to help Lisa out. Too ease the stress of the Holiday shopping I have offered to take care of the children for a weekend. This will allow her time to speak to her ex-husband in a quite environment and discuss arrangements for the boys. This time to herself will also allow her to go shopping for Christmas presents and get some much needed “me time.”

Picture
I will be taking the boys with me for the weekend, teaching them how to decorate homemade ornaments for the Christmas tree, helping them bake cookies that they can give to their mom and taking them out to play at the park. I know children at this age can be very active, so I know it’s important to keep them entertained. I have used Pinterest to find age appropriate activities that I can do with the boys. For example, we will be using finger paints to create wreaths and Christmas trees with their palms. After they have they have created their “masterpieces” I will add a cute message about family and love. I will also help the kids make yummy snacks using marshmallows and graham crackers.

Picture
I highly encourage you to help out as well. We all know that one person who is going through a difficult time. Maybe it’s not a divorce, maybe it’s a death in the family. What ever it is, you can always make an important difference in their lives by helping out. Offer to take the kids out. Invite them over for dinner so they won’t have to cook. Anything that you do to help will make their life at least a little bit easier.





Leave a Reply.